History - 2010s

2010 - Transitions

In July 2010, Mrs. Laura Stephenson departs the program to pursue her PhD. In August 2010, Dr. Margaret West becomes the Associate Director of the Program. Also in August, the first McLeod Scholars begin their freshmen year at Washington University, selected from Ervin, Danforth, and Rodriguez Scholars. 


2011 - Dean McLeod Passes Away

James E. McLeod, Founding Director of the Ervin Scholars Program passes away on September 6. Dean McLeod also served as Dean of the College of Arts & Sciences and Vice Chancellor for Students. Thousands mourn his passing and return to campus to remember his contributions to the university. 


2012 - 25th Anniversary

In September, the Ervin Scholars Program celebrates 25 years - "25 Years of Achievement: Our Names and Our Stories". During this special weekend honoring the legacies of John B. Ervin and James E. McLeod, the University dedicates “McLeod’s Way” on the South 40, and the Black Alumni Council dedicates the James E. McLeod bench in the Quadrangle. Led by Trina Williams Shanks (Ervin alumna, BU ’92), Ervin alumni, University faculty and staff produce Habits of Achievement: Lessons for a Life Well-Lived, a tribute to Dean McLeod and his annual “Habits of Achievement” talk at Ervin Orientation. 


2013-Present - Moving Forward

Dr. Margaret West transitions out of the Associate Director role, and Dean Wilmetta Toliver-Diallo serves as Interim Director for the 2013-2014 school year. Following a national search led by a committee comprised of University administrators, faculty, staff, Ervin Scholars and Parents of Ervin Scholars, Ms. Robyn S. Hadley is named Dean of the Ervin Scholars Program and Associate Vice Chancellor of Students in January 2014.

With the graduation of the Class of 2015, the number of Ervin Scholar Alumni exceeds 600 members. Plans are now underway for the 30th Anniversary Celebration in 2017.





Membership Management Software  ::  Legal